IEEE Intersociety Thermal and Thermomechanical Conference


IEEE ITherm Conference

The Intersociety Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena in Electronic Systems

Richard Chu ITherm Award for Excellence in Thermal and Thermo-Mechanical Management of Electronics

The ITherm 2020 Awards Committee is seeking nominations for the Richard Chu Award for Excellence in Thermal and Thermo-Mechanical Management of Electronics, formerly known as the ITherm Achievement Award. The ITherm Achievement Award, instituted in 1996, has been presented biennially in recognition of significant contributions made in thermal and thermo-mechanical aspects of electronics devices and systems. Following recent IEEE EPS Board of Governors approval of an annual ITherm Conference, it will now be awarded annually. The Award has been re-named to honor Richard Chu, the first recipient of the ITherm Achievement Award and a seminal contributor to thermal management of electronics.

The Award, to be presented at the ITherm Conference Banquet, includes a memento, a plaque, and a $1500 honorarium. Conference registration, and two nights of lodging will be complimentary. The recipient is expected to attend ITherm and present an Invited Lecture on a topic of relevance to the conference themes.

The selection criterion and required nomination materials are detailed below. Nomination packets should be submitted by March 2, 2020 to:

Prof. Sushil H. Bhavnani, Awards Chair,

Dr. Koneru Ramakrishna, Awards Co-chair,

Prof. Yogendra K. Joshi, Awards Co-chair,

The sole selection criterion for the award is seminal contributions to the science and art of thermal and/or thermo-mechanical aspects of electronic devices and systems as demonstrated by archival publications in prestigious journals, patents, or other groundbreaking achievements. Service and societal activities, although relevant will not be major considerations for selection. IEEE-EPS membership is encouraged but not required.

The nomination should include:

1. A two-page letter from the nominator summarizing the nominee's qualifications,

2. Up to three letters of support (a minimum of two are required), and

3. A detailed curriculum vitae.

ITherm Partners