IEEE Intersociety Thermal and Thermomechanical Conference


IEEE ITherm Conference

The Intersociety Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena in Electronic Systems

ITherm Achievement Award 2010

Dr. Bahgat Sammakia

Dr. Bahgat Sammakia serves as a professor of mechanical engineering in the Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science at Binghamton University and as director of Binghamton University’s Small Scale Systems Integration and Packaging Center, a New York State Center of Excellence. Dr. Sammakia is the Interim Vice President for Research at Binghamton University. Dr. Sammakia has spent much of his 30-year research career working to improve thermal management strategies in electronics packaging, distinguishing himself in the laboratory and at the helm of major research initiatives.

Dr. Sammakia joined the faculty of the Watson School in 1998 following a fourteen-year career at IBM where he worked in the area of research and development of organic electronic systems. He has contributed to several books on natural convection heat transfer and is also the principal investigator or co-principal investigator on millions of dollars of cross-disciplinary research projects. Dr. Sammakia earned his bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Alexandria, Egypt, and his master’s and doctorate in mechanical engineering from the State University of New York at Buffalo. He was a post doctoral fellow at the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Sammakia has over 180 published papers in refereed journals and conference proceedings, has contributed to five books in the areas of heat transfer and electronics packaging, and holds fourteen US patents in the area of electronics packaging. Dr. Sammakia is an ASME fellow and a member of the IEEE. He is the editor of the Journal of Electronic Packaging, Transactions of the ASME and an associate editor of the EPS Transactions of the IEEE. Professor Sammakia was the Chair of the ASME K16 committee on thermal management of electronic systems from 2005 to 2007.