IEEE Intersociety Thermal and Thermomechanical Conference


IEEE ITherm Conference

The Intersociety Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena in Electronic Systems

2018 Richard Chu ITherm Award for Excellence in Thermal and Thermo-Mechanical Management of Electronics


Dr. Kenneth Goodson
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and, by courtesy, of Materials Science and Engineering, Bosch Chair of the Mechanical Engineering Department, Davies Family Provostial Professor, Stanford University

Ken Goodson chairs the Mechanical Engineering Department and holds the Davies Family Provostial Professorship and a courtesy appointment in Materials Science at Stanford University. His lab has graduated 40 PhDs, nearly half of whom are professors at schools including MIT, Stanford, and UC Berkeley. Honors include the Kraus Medal, the Heat Transfer Memorial Award, the AIChE Kern Award, the SRC Technical Excellence Award, the INTERPACK Achievement Award, and Fellow grade with ASME, IEEE, APS, and AAAS. Goodson co-founded Cooligy, which built computer heat sinks and was acquired by Emerson in 2006. At Stanford, serving as Mechanical Engineering Chair and Vice Chair since 2008, Goodson ledtwo strategic plans and launched hiring of 15 faculty who are transforming the department's scholarship and diversity.